Major Project- November 7

November 7th, 2015

I haven’t been working on my major project a lot lately, but I plan to put most of my hours in the next couple weeks. Today I started going through the never-ending amount of information regarding the terms of service. Here is what I found:

YouTube Terms of Service

I know, even the title sounds boring. How many times do we register for websites or apps and check off the box that says “I have read and accept the terms of service.” But if you’re like me, you probably have never actually read what it says. That is why I think it was important to include this in my major project. However, this is no easy task. Within the terms of service are multiple links to further explain other terms of use. You can easily get lost in all the information but I did my best to gather what I thought were the most important pieces to share with you. (And to be honest-after reading through all this it is very clear why nobody ever reads the terms and conditions!)  Here is a summary/reflection of my findings:

The Warranty Disclaimer and Limitation of Liability are all written in caps lock. In a way I felt that I was getting yelled at my youtube. I can only assume they think these are some of the most important pieces of information, or more likely these are the ones that cover their butt in a legal situation. To summarize both parts, they are basically saying they are responsible for nothing, including personal injury (who knew watching youtube could cause you personal injury!? I found this part quite humorous)

Community Guidelines

Within the terms of service there is a link that will take you to another page titled Community Guidelines which they describe as “A few ground rules to keep youtube safe and fun for everyone”. This section was much more user friendly than the previous terms and conditions. I would describe these guidelines as the moral side of the terms.

“We trust you to be responsible, and millions of users respect that trust. Please be one of them.”

They list categories of material that is not allowed. However, there are some exceptions and videos that contain some of this content may become age restricted.

  • nudity/sexual content
  • harmful or dangerous content
  • violent or graphic content
  • copyright
  • threats
  • hateful content
  • spam

Not only is this section about not posting this type of content, but it also covers what to do if you come across a video that you think violates their policy.

Privacy Policy

The privacy policy is outlined by google (since google owns youtube)

“When you use Google services, you trust us with your information. This Privacy Policy is meant to help you understand what data we collect, why we collect it, and what we do with it.”

Something I thought was helpful was they recommend you read about the key terms if you are unfamiliar with terms such as cookies or IP address. It made it seem like they truly want people to fully understand the privacy policy and they are not trying to hide anything. However, at the end of the page they have a block quote that says:

WE KEEP YOUR PERSONAL INFORMATION PRIVATE AND SAFE — AND PUT YOU IN CONTROL.

I found that quote interesting because the whole privacy policy basically stated that they have all the information about everything you have done with their service and they use it to make your experience better. So no- we are not in control. They are in control.

Leave a Reply

