Major Project- October 17

October 17th, 2015

For my major project I have chosen Option 2: Personal journey into media. My focus is going to be on YouTube. I chose this topic because I don’t know much about the features of YouTube and I am also interested in the copyright information and the role it plays. I am prepared for this project to take me in different directions as I learn more about it. To start, today I just did some exploring on the topic and learned a bit about the history of youtube, and briefly looked at th

The Beginning

Ever wonder what the very first video uploaded to YouTube was? Well, here is is. “Me at the zoo” was uploaded on April 23,2005 and currently has 26,995,265 views. The man in the video is Jawed Karim and he was one of the co-founders of YouTube. Read more here.

So why did YouTube become so successful? This article in the Boston Globe goes back to an interview from 2005 with the co-founders. The author (Scott Kirsner) lists a number of reasons as to why he thinks they were successful, including the easy accessibility it offered users. You can also read his article from 2005 about being able to share videos online and the different site options. It is funny to go back and read this because of the other sites he lists which are now not even comparable to the success of YouTube.

Google and YouTube

  • Google bought YouTube in 2006 for 1.65 billion

Screen Shot 2015-10-10 at 3.53.23 PM

http://www.nbcnews.com/id/15196982/ns/business-us_business/t/google-buys-youtube-billion/#.Vhl_ySxViko

Viral videos

I couldn’t do a project on YouTube and not include something about the phenomenon of viral videos. They are something that fascinate me and I plan to do some more research to hopefully answer some of my questions: What does it take for a video to go viral? What types of videos are more likely to go viral?

Here are a few of my favorite viral videos:

Charlie Bit Me- 829,523,298 views

Numa Numa- 22,111,964 views

This one is significant as we had discussed in one of our classes. It was really the start of people sitting in front of their video and recording themselves for the world to see.

The most popular videos on YouTube are music videos, and they take the spots for the most viewed videos of all time.

Leave a Reply

