We Participate, Therefore We Are

Welcome to my first blog post of ECI831! Comparing it to my first blog post of ECI832 I would say I have come a long way! Much cleaner look, more links, and images and block quotes to break up the information.

While going through the readings/viewings for this week, I was reflecting on my own experience with participating on Web 2.0 and being a part of Social Learning. Michael Wesch explains that media used to be a one-way form of communication, but it has now evolved into a two-way form of communication. But it isn’t just a conversation, it is more complicated and contains depth and layers. As I am learning more about participatory culture and social learning, I am realizing just how important it is to be a part of it all rather than just a bystander. It is equally important for us to educate our students on how to participate by criticizing and creating the information because as Michael Wesch states, being “critical thinkers” is no longer enough.

“The latest evolution of the Internet, the so-called Web 2.0, has blurred the line between producers and consumers of content and has shifted attention from access to information toward access to other people. New kinds of online resources—such as social networking sites, blogs, wikis, and virtual communities—have allowed people with common interests to meet, share ideas, and collaborate in innovative ways.”

-John Seely Brown and Richard Adler, Minds on Fire: Open Education, the Long Trail, and Web 2.0

This quote my Brown and Adler reminded me of my major project. I am aiming to connect with others who share my love and passion for reading. Using multiple platforms and online resources, I am able to find and connect with these people that I would otherwise never know about. It offers endless opportunities. This will be my first experience in actually reaching out to join a network of people with a common interest of mine and actually participate in this form of Social Learning on Web 2.0.

*Stay tuned for my first blog post about my major project!*

2 thoughts on “We Participate, Therefore We Are

  1. Vanessa Braun says:

    First off, your blog looks great! It has a very clean and professional feel to it. I suppose one of the biggest questions I have, rhetorical or not, is how you aim to encourage the participatory culture in your classroom. (For me anyway) It’s hard enough to encourage critical thinking. Are they on the same continuum? Is participatory learning just a step beyond critical thinking? Or is it on an entirely new plane? If so, how do we get there?

    [A few big questions, but I’d love to know your thoughts on them, if you have any.]

    Like

  2. Amy says:

    Thanks for the comment Vanessa. Those are some great questions. I think participatory culture is much more than just critical thinking. I don’t have all the answers, and as I stated in my blog I am still on my own personal journey of becoming a part of participatory culture. It is still something that is new to me and for myself, I am choosing to become more part of it so I can be an example for my students and lead them in the right direction. Before taking ECI831 or ECI832 I was very much a bystander in social learning, but have since learned the value in being an active member of it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

