Media Literacy Beyond ECI831

Something that really spoke to me during the readings this week was the importance of taking what I am learning in ECI831 (and ECI832) and applying it to my everyday life beyond this semester. Near the end of the Networked Student video he talks about the role of a teacher in a student’s learning about connectivism and networking. He says that the biggest hope the teacher has for the students is that when they leave the class they will maintain their learning network and use it to navigate the future. (Sorry Alec and Katia… I failed you in this last semester!)

This was an “Aha” moment for me because if you were to look back at my last tweet or blog post before ECI831 began you would see that they were dated right around the last day of classes for the previous semester. What this shows me is that I didn’t continue connecting with the learning network I had developed over the past semester and only picked it up again after this class began. I learned so much and was able to connect with other educators, I had many networks so why didn’t I continue to be an active member of them?

Screen Shot 2016-01-30 at 1.39.32 PM

My last tweets before I fell off the face of the twitter world. Oops!

Rheingold states:

“Access to many media empowers only those who know how to use them.”

My goal for this term (and beyond) is to stay connected and continue to be a part of these learning networks because they have already opened so many doors and opportunities, it would be a shame to let that go.

 

4 thoughts on “Media Literacy Beyond ECI831

  1. Erin Benjamin says:

    I can definitely relate to this Amy. I often feel very inspired and engaged during a course and have well intentions of sticking with it, but have failed in the past. I am hoping by making deeper connections through Twitter, chats in particular, will help motivate me to continue building my PLN after this course.

    Like

  2. Nicole Reeve says:

    I appreciate you sharing that this is how you have and do feel! I have been through those motions a few times and am hoping, especially with blogging, that I continue to use it as a means for me to grow and participate in reflective practice. Looking forward to reading your future posts.

    Like

    • Amy says:

      Thanks Nicole! I agree with your point about blogging. For me the biggest challenge will be staying connected on twitter. But I would also love to keep my blog up and running, that is why I changed the name to something that I can continue to use after ECI831.

      Like

Leave a Reply

