My Blog Matters!

This week I chose to focus and reflect on my own journey with blogging. Just for fun I had a look back at my very first blog, created in 2013 for my backpacking trip to Peru. Back then I thought of blogging only as a way to keep friends and family updated on my trip. But I had a lot of fun going back through it and reliving the memories!

Screen Shot 2016-02-04 at 6.42.37 PM

In my “early blogging days” (ECI832) I was always very hesitant about my posts and critical of myself, often wondering why I was writing them because who would care to read them anyways? I was often self conscious as I was writing my post, always second guessing every word I typed. But my attitude slowly shifted as I became more confident in sharing my thoughts and ideas. Now I find that I really enjoy having the outlet to share and reflect on my ideas and connect with people who care about what I have to say. A quote from Thompson really stuck with me:

” Just as we now live in public, so do we think in public.”

I think in the beginning the thinking in public is what really scared me, but now I am finding that it helps me because you have to be confident in your ideas when you are sharing them with the world. I definitely find myself influenced by the “audience affect” Thompson refers to:

“Having an audience can clarify thinking. It’s easy to win an argument inside your head. But when you face a real audience, you have to be truly convincing.”

Thompson gave some mind boggling statistics about the words we post online and you can see these stats more specifically at http://www.internetlivestats.com/

 Altogether, we compose some 3.6 trillion words every day on email and social media — the equivalent of 36 million books.

Several of the readings we do in #ECI831 come from the blogs of other professionals. These readings are some of my favorites because I find the ideas new, refreshing, and presented in an easy-to-read format.

I am finding this shift in my attitude and confidence carrying over into my use on twitter as well. I am learning to be more open about sharing things on twitter and more vocal about my opinions. I liked in the video when Alec points out that some people may think Twitter is limiting because of the 140 characters, but there is a “richness” in these 140 characters and they can take us many other places.

This is an exciting epiphany for me because I know that as I get more comfortable with “thinking in public” I will share more ideas and become connected with others who do care about what I have to say- because I know that my blog matters!

blogging

Working on my blog

Did/do you struggle with openly sharing your ideas? What helped you overcome that or what has been your biggest challenge? Please leave a comment to share your thoughts (because your thoughts and ideas matter too!)

10 thoughts on “My Blog Matters!

  1. Haiming Li's blog says:

    I agree it’s very fun to review what I had written before and to rethink the mood and the idea I had at that time. When I use social media to share the idea, there seems to be a very interesting safe distance because maybe there will be readers and maybe not. So I can feel free to note some real thoughts.

    Like

  2. Nicole Reeve says:

    I think I re-read my posts a good 6 or 7 times before posting them, always anxious over whether I have made myself clear or not. I was given some advice last week on #saskedchat to write a post one day, leave it to the next day and then decide if the message I wanted to get across was communicated how I wanted. Going to give that this week and see how it goes.

    Like

    • Amy says:

      That is a great idea! I typically write my blog posts over the course of a few days just to let ideas sink in and give myself time to rearrange things if need be. I usually have a couple draft posts on the go!

      Like

  3. ashleypmurray says:

    My biggest struggle is getting my point across in a succinct interesting way. I have trouble conveying messages and telling people what I am thinking. Even in daily spoken conversations I have trouble with it. Sometimes I feel like it takes me 5 minutes to tell a 2 minute story haha. I think that Twitter has actually helped me with this. It’s tough to keep something to 140 characters but I am able to make it work…most of the time 😉

    Like

    • Amy says:

      I feel the same way Ashley! I too often have trouble articulating my thoughts. They always sound so good in my head but then I struggle getting those ideas out in words! Twitter for sure helps but I also think blogging helps with this as well, it doesn’t seem to take me as long as it used to take me to get a message out in a blog post.

      Like

  4. Erin Benjamin says:

    I find I need to mull over ideas for a few days before blogging. I won’t even really realize what i am going to blog about, but I’ll just be conscious of certain thoughts that pop into my mind and try to connect them. When I first sit down with all of my thoughts, there is a lot of jumbled ideas together and then I try to weave them into something that makes sense! I’m hoping that over time, this isn’t such a timely process for me!

    Like

  5. Betsey says:

    What i do not realize is in fact how you’re now not actually much more smeovly-fatrrad than you may be right now. You’re so intelligent. You understand thus significantly in relation to this topic, produced me in my view consider it from numerous numerous angles. Its like women and men are not interested unless it’s one thing to do with Lady gaga! Your personal stuffs nice. At all times take care of it up!

    Like

  6. cheap cars in us says:

    I am happy about the updated policy. Especially concerning the competitor’s coupon. This will save me a trip or two. I love using my coupons and will be printing up this new policy to carry with me. I have not used the grocery game site. So far my method has been working out pretty good. Plus they don’t seem to offer too much for my local store.

    Like

  7. http://goanalyze.info/retireonline.com says:

    Gisela Felicitations!Excellent publicity for the Republican Party!!. I miss a calm, nuancé, intellectual analysis. God, if he exists, please save us from this kind of mind! To.day he is against ALL moslims, to-morrow he will be against ALL opinions which are not his own.

    Like

Leave a Reply

